OS X Woes

I’ve been a regular Mac user since 2005 when I bought my 12.1″ iBook.

I was really happy with OS X 10.4 Tiger. After coming from the nightmare that was WinXP. I used to reinstall WinXP so often that I got very familar with Norton Ghost and even partioned my machine so I could reinstall WinXP on a regular basis safely without touching my data partition.

I was also moving from a desktop (for WinXP) to a laptop (the iBook). The portability was a breathe of fresh air. Back in 2005, my work laptop (I believe it was a Dell Latitude D600) wasn’t very good at suspending and took ages to boot up. The iBook by comparison booted up almost instataneously and was fantastic at suspending. Months would go by without rebooting the iBook unlike my WinXP desktop or laptop which would crash into a BSOD (because of memory leakages I presume) after a day or two of running.

The love affair with OS X started to sour after I bought my MacBook in 2006. The iBook used to run very cool, but the first-gen MacBooks were hot!

Then I upgraded to Leopard and OS X just didn’t seem as stable as it used to be. Safari seemed to get slower and slower, Finder started to grate on my nerves (if there’s an error moving a file, it’s gone! OS X doesn’t wait for the transfer to go through before deleting the original; why can’t it display folders first before displaying files? this is when you sort by filename), etc.

OS X started to crash, not a lot but it felt like the gap between Windows and OS X had narrowed.

The latest problem was dotmacsyncclient. It just stopped working, and even worse, I couldn’t even go into the System Preference pane to adjust MobileMe’s sync preferences!

Goggled and there were all sorts of advice
– fix disk permissions
– delete your login keychain
which I did but it didn’t help.

Finally I came across a forum posting which suggested that I reset the SyncServices folder. Finally a solution that worked!

But why was it so difficult to come across the solution? Heck, dotmacsyncclient wasn’t even referenced in the Apple knowledgebase article! I literally had to stumble across the solution!

Fail, Apple, another Fail… 😦

Leave a Reply

