OneNote to Rule Them All

I have to say that as I get older, I’m becoming more and more cynical. I think it’s partly due to the fact that being hopeful takes energy and being cynical takes no energy at all!

Plus I think this is one of the hardest phases in life, when you have young children. Unless you’re a young mum/dad this would mean that your body is no longer in its prime (defining prime as around 18-24). You’re probably still climbing the corporate ladder, ie unlikely you’re a CEO yet.

So I’m starting to lose that buzz with new products and software and new things in general. In a way that’s good ’cause hopefully that means I derive less pleasure from buying new things so I’ll a) save money from not buying new things and b) save time from not reading like a million reviews on said new product and dithering whether or not to purchase aforementioned new product.

Well I haven’t lost hope completely ’cause I’m getting excited about OneNote. The realist in me however is already tempering that excitement.

For example, OneNote’s table management isn’t as good as Word’s. Outlining is also not as good.

And wouldn’t it be nice if you could have a summary page at the beginning of each section that could summarise each note…. hmmm perhaps I can cut and paste link?

Anyways, I’ve decided NOT to get to excited, afterall it’s a piece of software and it’s not going to miraculously improve my life to the nth degree. I will however give it a “fair go” and if it doesn’t work it doesn’t work. But in the spirit of a “fair go” I’m not going to write it off until I’ve spent some time on it.

Wish me luck! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

