How I decided on which smartphone to buy

Last month I was considering a smartphone replacement.

Before I begin I’d like to say that I’ve own, at various times, the iPhone 3GS, the INQ, the Google Nexus S, the iPhone 4S, and the HTC One X. So l like to think that I’ve experience a wide variety of phones and can speak with some credence.

wordpress-eye-trouble

Recently my eyes have started to fail me. I can’t refocus as well as I used to, in fact, I have to remove my glasses when viewing something up close. To add insult to injury, I’m actually short-sighted!

It was only a few years ago that I was able to use the 3.5 inch screen of the iPhone with no problems. But after about half a year switching from the 4 inch screen of the Nexus S to the 3.5 inch screen of the 4S I noticed that I would, after using the 4S for 10-20 mins, find it difficult to refocus my vision onto things 3-10 meters away.

For that reason alone I switched back to Android, in this case the One X with its 4.7 screen. I would like something even larger but I find the 4.7 inch screen about the limit of what I comfortably use one-handed.

wordpress-no-iphone

My failing eyes means that unless Apple comes up with a decent smartphone with at least a 4.5 inch screen, I can’t consider an iOS device. 😦

Then again, perhaps my failing eyes is God’s way of telling me that I shouldn’t be using my smartphone so much!

So this leaves me with either a Win8 phone or an Android device. Win8 isn’t really a serious contender in my opinion which leaves me with Android.

 

wordpress-movie-resolution-comparison-large

There is currently a shift from 720 screens to 1080 screens on Android. Having seen the benefits of a high resolution display on my iPad 3, I would rather have a 1080 screen than use a current standard screen which will soon be out-dated. This means that the Nexus 4, despite good hardware and the very real benefits of having a pure Google device is excluded.

The phones I have shortlisted at the moment are:

  • the HTC One (not to be confused with the HTC One X),
  • the Samsung Galaxy S4, and
  • the Sony Xperia Z.

xperia-z-ultra-vs-xperia-z

I did consider briefly even larger phones, the phablets. But when I saw a Huawei Ascend Mate in a store with its gigantic 6.1 inch screen I realised it was too large.

This means that the Sony Xperia Z Ultra is also out with its 1080 resolution 6.4 inch screen.

The three phones on my shortlist fulfil the criteria of haing a large 4.7 to 5 inch with a 1080 resolution. Of the three, the S4 looks attractive given the 5 inch screen in the body of a 4.7 inch screen phone. The Sony was initially a contender for first place, but the quality of the screen has me worried.

However there are rumours that the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 is coming out soon (the Note 2 is still 720 so is not a contender). Then there is also the next Nexus from Google.

Given I’m not in a big rush and the possibility of two much nicer phones coming out, I’m going to try to hold off until at least the end of August before carrying out my purchase. At the very least, even if I get one of the three phones that was on my original shortlist, it ought to be slightly cheaper at the end of August.

Leave a Reply

