Tale of two…

wordpress-logo-twocities-medium-large

This is a tale of two cities… opps I meant two tablets.

Both from Asus, one a Windows 8 tablet and the other an Android tablet.

Both were mistakes (on my part). Praise God that I didn’t lose any money though. I really need to do something about my G.A.S. (that’s Gear Acquisition Syndrome, not the other gas…)

1. Fool me once a.k.a. Asus VivoTab Smart ME400C

Asus-Vivo-Tab-Smart-ME400C

My first Windows 8 tablet. The full version of Windows, not Win 8 RT.

The processor was not sluggish in my opinion. And the ability to install ANY Windows app is really a killer functionality.

But… you knew there was a but coming didn’t you? 😉

a) Windows 8 Metro aka the tablet interface is broken.

The app store would not update apps. I had to update Windows multiple times before this issue would fix itself. And I was unable to fix in purely in Metro, I had to dip into Desktop mode too.

The default News app is crap. Looks pretty but with no ability to go back in a way that makes sense to me.

The lack of critical apps such as Facebook and YouTube. Yeah, I could go to the websites but for me the tablet interface is all about dedicated apps, especially for these functions.

b) Metro / Desktop schizophrenia

Dig deep enough into the Metro beauty and you fall into Desktop land. The problem is that the Desktop paradigm needs big screens, mouse, and keyboard. On a small screen, without those input devices it doesn’t quite work. And you are asking someone who is using this device on the go to HAVE to GO into Desktop mode. For the sake of changing some settings….

c) The aspect ratio

16:9 aspect ratio. C’mon! You tell me that this device, unlike others *ahem* *iPad* *ahem* is meant for creation as well as content consumption. Well you’ve basically knee caped this device with this aspect ratio. You can’t use this in landscape mode. It’s just ridiculous in that mode.

Even Android mostly uses 16:10.

Look at letter sized or A4 sized paper. Is it closer to 16:9 or 4:3? It’s the latter….

Having said that, the device itself is very nice. The display is nice even though it isn’t Retina standard.

The plastic used is nice to hold, not very grippy though.

Thank God I was able to return it to the brick and mortar store I bought it from for a full refund.

2. Fool me twice a.k.a Asus Google Nexus 7 (2013)

Google_Nexus_7_2_5204b788912d5

The second device made my Asus. Again, very nice physically. Beautiful screen, simply beautiful (note I didn’t use it outdoors only indoors).

Grippy back surface so not really an issue with dropping it accidentally.

But… *sigh* there was a serious problem with the device. I think it might have been hardware relate ’cause I can’t see how it could have been a software problem. Let me explain.

Processes crashed. Even during the setup process. In fact the hardware reset itself halfway (not at the end) through the setup process.

And once it was set up it continued to have processes hang, and occasionally crashing/resetting.

I flashed thinking perhaps it was a faulty ROM but no luck. It continued to crash.

Again, praise God, I returned it for a full refund.

I think I’m still going to get a Nexus 7 (2013). But maybe after the bugs are sorted out…unless this two experiences are telling me that Asus doesn’t have good quality control and I should steer clear of Asus products!

Leave a Reply

